Characteristics of ATIC terminology

Concept-oriented standardized vocabulary

It includes codes, terms, meanings and assertional knowledge to represent the nursing care process and its results, being useful for healthcare practice, semantic harmonization and data processing in electronic health records and information systems.


Concept system based on natural language, reviewed for its theoretical refinement and its scientific foundation.

Represented in plain language, which uses common clinical expressions of healthcare practice, and optimized for use in information systems.

It acts as a bridge between natural language and the need for code in information systems.


It is structured in 3 main axes and 10 secondary axes.

Main axes:

  • Assessment
  • Diagnosis
  • Intervention


Secondary axes:

  • Actions and conditions
  • Attributes
  • Beneficiaries
  • Scales and Units of Measure
  • Space, location and position
  • Focus
  • Judgment
  • Products, medicines, foods and substances
  • Resources, media and context
  • Temporality
High specificity

The axes are structured in a matrix way in three levels of abstraction:

1st level_Structuring elements (clusters)

2nd level_Basic elements (main axes)

3rd level_Molecular and atomic elements

In practice, molecular and atomic elements of the secondary axes are used to increase the level of specificity of basic elements.

In the construction and updating of the terminology system, molecular and atomic elements are used for the conceptual dissection, in compliance with the recommendation of the ISO standard 18104:2014).


Submitted to a formal validation process of its properties, using qualitative and clinical-epidemiological research methodology (metrics):

  • Philosophical and theoretical foundation
  • Structure
  • Face validity
  • Content validity
  • Criterion validity
  • Reliability (usability)

The results of these studies are available in the Publications section.


ATIC is used in healthcare practice in healthcare facilities of multiple providers of public and private healthcare services:


Primary care centers and facilities

High-tech metropolitan hospitals

University Hospitals

Regional and rural hospitals

Elderly inpatient care facilities


Family and community health care

Medical-surgical, critical and urgent care

Maternal-infant and pediatric care

Mental health care

Geriatric, elderly care and palliative care


Primary care teams

Rural clinics

Case management

Home care

Primary care emergency centers

Community palliative care teams

Residential care teams

Specialized primary care units

High complexity hospital units

Short stay inpatient wards

Maternal and child care floors

Semi-critical and intermediate care units

Intensive care units

Surgical areas

Interventional procedures departments

Home hospitalization units

Emergency departments

General and specialized day hospitals

Acute mental health wards

Convalescent units

Long-terms care inpatient wards

Rehabilitation units

Palliative care units

Mental health units

Elderly day-care centers